IGNORED

How would you judge the consistency of this grind?

nikitas

As described in the title, what do you think of this grind?
spacer.png

The reason I am asking is because after cleaning the burrs of a Eureka Mignon Manuale I bought second hand, I read that it might be best to check the alignment of the burs when reassembling - which I didn't.

Thanks a lot!

Nikitas

1 minute ago, Waitforme said:

It looks like the beans have been ground with a cheese grater from that photo 🤔

I was thinking crushed bourbon biscuits!

CFUK, the biggest, best and most friendly forum in the UK...with a wealth of knowledge among its many members.

To be honest, they were finely diced with my chef's knife 🤓

how are the shots
I haven't been very happy with my shots - the results are inconsistent across shots and can sometimes have a weird bitter-sour combo. Having said that, I am quite new to espresso - so my taste is not a very reliable indicator..

Edited by nikitas
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, nikitas said:

To be honest, they were finely diced with my chef's knife 🤓

how are the shots
I haven't been very happy with my shots - the results are inconsistent across shots and can sometimes have a weird bitter-sour combo. Having said that, I am quite new to espresso - so my taste is not a very reliable indicator..

You might be new to espresso, but you must have experience of eating & drinking? So your taste doesn't need to correlate to anything but what you personally like/dislike.

You say your shots are inconsistent? Inconsistent in what way? Weight out? Taste?  Both?

Bitter-sour suggests under-extracted and too fine. Do you have leeway to grind coarser?

4 hours ago, nikitas said:

Thanks MWJB - I meant both, i.e inconsistent in brewing time taken to get certain weight out, and in taste.

I will try to adjust the grind to coarser and see how it goes.

Time is one of the least informative things when it comes to consistency. Focus more on grind setting & its effect on taste.