IGNORED

Silvia PID build

Hi everyone!

New Silvia owner here... with a lot of time on my hands during lock down and a shiny new Silvia to play around with I decided to try build my own PID controller. I thought I'd post here what I came up with just in case anyone interested and may even like to club together to refine the system. I'm more than happy to share circuit details and code etc. Basically, I'm an electrical engineer, so the hardware is up to scratch, but the software still has a few bugs and I can think of many improvements I'd like to implement but don't have the skills! Apologies in advance for the long post, but here goes...

Within a couple of weeks of owning the Silvia I was already sick of temperature surfing and inconsistent shots etc, so I started looking into PID controllers and what options are available to buy. There seems to be a few options but they are quite pricey and I had a few requirements that they didn't quite meet: (1) as it's a new machine, I didn't really want to be drilling holes etc, (2) I'm short on space so didn't want a screen poking out from the side, and (3) I wanted a really simple install process that could be easily reversed if needed (machine is still under warranty, or at least it was until I messed with it!).

After studying the wiring diagram of the machine, I decided the simplest thing to do would be disconnect the brew thermostat and connect the wires to a solid state relay. This is my only change to the wiring inside the machine, literally moving two wires. I left the brew thermostat in place just in case I ever need to switch back. I left the steam thermostat in place for a few reasons, mainly because it acts as a safety net just in case my temperature control goes haywire (which it did many times during testing), this thermostat cuts power to the heating element when the boiler reaches steam temp no matter what my temperature control system is trying to do.