IGNORED

New Silvia Owner - Beginner Help

Hello all, sorry to start another "I'm a beginner, help!" thread.

I'd had a Delonghi Dedica machine for a few years as my very first introduction into 'proper' coffee. Last year I inherited some money and decided to upgrade. 
I bought a Rancilio Silvia V6 and I've paired it with a Niche grinder after lots of reading around on grinders.
I've also done lots of reading about temperature surfing, PID and other upgrades, how to get the best from the machine etc.

As it stands I'm following the temperature surfing routine here.
Using all of the standard Rancilio equipment (double basket, standard tamper), I'm dosing 16g, tamping, temp surfing and then pulling a shot. With the Niche I've found it quite easy to dial in my current beans to get ~32g out in ~30 seconds quite consistently (Gaslight from Bella Barista).

With all that said, I'm still struggling to get what I would call a 'nice' espresso out of the machine. Typically they taste very sour to me, a very sharp and unpleasant taste, not very balanced at all. Of course the beans say they have flavours on the bag but I can't taste any of those...not sure if that's me or my methods.

On a separate but likely related note, I've attached a couple of images of my puck, post shot. Not too concerned by the imprint or indent, I've read a lot about that and understand it's quite normal. But, could anyone explain why I seem to be getting coffee up the walls of the portafilter sort of outside of the puck?

Thanks for any help you can give. As it is I am really enjoying my machine, I can make some tasty milk drinks, just want to master those tasty espressos!

spacer.pngspacer.png

Hello all, sorry to start another "I'm a beginner, help!" thread.
I'd had a Delonghi Dedica machine for a few years as my very first introduction into 'proper' coffee. Last year I inherited some money and decided to upgrade.