IGNORED

I think I’ve bought the wrong machine...

So, apologise for the attention seeking subject title but I need a sounding board I think.

Basically, I bought a Profitec Pro 500 last October to replace my Sage Barista Express. I’m an information junkie so naturally did many, many hours research - which led me to taking a trip to Bella Barista to collect the Pro 500.

I love the machine: the look of it, the Profitec brand and obviously the German engineering (I’m a mechanical engineer). I know the style of the machine isn’t for everyone and at the time I fully accepted that I could have got ‘more machine’ for my money and I payed a premium for the quality of finish.

Here is where my problem lies - I’m torn because like I have said I love the look of it and for a HX machine with the added PID it is pretty stable but I want it to be more stable.I have done lots of experimenting with boiler temps, flushing routines, no flushing and I can get it consistent but I know it could have better. So, that is one thing and herein lies the next problem - I’m lucky enough to have adopted our utility room and have a good amount of space but I just wish the machine was slightly smaller.

Obviously I could just accept it’s bloody good but I can’t help thinking it could be better. I know upgradeitus doesn’t help but usually once I’m happy with something I stick with it and look after it.

My current thinking is to swap it for the Pro 600 which should be better for temp but it’s obviously the exact same size. Plus, I’m not mad on the steam/hot water wand shape.

Any thoughts? :) 

Edited by BH471

What about lelit bianca, similar size but the water tank is moveable (and I think it can be plumbed in??) or is that too similar in aesthetics to the pro 600 for you

@RobDGio it’s a good shout but I’m not a fan of the wood (controversial I know) and I think the moveable tank, although could be useful for some - looks a bit unsightly to me. Do you have one?

Edited by BH471