IGNORED

Bianca group head pressure

Hi. I am a total newbie who has purchased a Bianca recently (upgrade from a bean to cup machine). I have been watching vids playing around with the machine and have a question that I cannot seem to find the answer to.

So i have checked and the pump pressure seems to be set to 10bar. However when I put in a blind filter the pressure on the group head gauge is over 11. I would have thought that these 2 should be the same with the blind filter fitted? And does it really make a difference if I can close the paddle to 9ish when brewing?

This is a steep learning curve for me. 

I think it should, but I might be wrong. @DavecUK knows the machine very well so maybe he knows why. If it should, then it might be the gauge at the group is not calibrated the same as the gauge on the machine. Moreover, you could do a simple test: adjust the pressure on the pump to 9 bar. What does he pressure in the group read? 10 bar?

Current: Lelit Elizabeth / Niche Zero / VST baskets / Distilled water + 100mg NaCO3/L

Previous: Gaggia Classic | Eureka Mignon | Rocket Cellini Evo | Profitec 700 | Profitec T-64 | Gene Cafe CBR-101 | Kinu M68 | Feldgrind 2 | La Pavoni Europiccola 2012

Also at: CoffeeTime Forum & Niche Zero Owners Group

Water entering the boiler expands on heating, the rotary pump pumps into a system via a 1 way valve. With a blind portafilter, the system is sealed and that small amount of room temperature water entering this sealed system, as the blind filter fills, is enough to raise the pressure to 11 bar or even higher when it heats..

You may notice it will initially go to 10, or whatever the pump is set to, seem to pause for a moment then start rising to 11+, as the water heats up.

• Like 1

Nothing here...