IGNORED

New at all this - going to buy a Sage Barista

Hey guys

Sottish Coffee Lover here.

I'm a beginner at making great coffee at home.  Had a dreaded Nespresso machine and can't stand it anymore. 

Looking for any handy tips on Sage machines. Thinking either the Sage Barista Express or Sage Barista Pro? Thanks a lot

Hi,

how many people will you be making coffee for? Reason I ask is the pro will have a stronger steam wand so can shave some time. Although there seems to be a built in timer so if you do too much (around 500 ml of milk which is still a lot)in a large jug then you will not have enough time, requiring start stop.

The pro has a step less grinder, but since the grinder isn’t top end it probably doesn’t benefit too much.

The express can be switched on beforehand to warm itself and the portafilter up. 

The pro is more aesthetically pleasing and built for user pleasure e.g. lcd screen and built in shot timer (which I do love), which is probably what you’re paying for, rather than any appreciable upgrades. Yes it powers on faster but as stated you lose the function of prewarming the portafilter and cups (someone please correct me if I’m wrong).

Both have their pros and cons but depends if the aesthetics and little things like having the hot water dispenser positioned so that you don’t need to move the cup (after pulling an espresso) matter to you and what your routine would look like I.e. do you have time to switch the express on or do you want something quicker (as the express is not slow).