Mignon Mk2 £200 (second hand) OR Specialita £300 (Brand New)?

Hey, I've posted a couple times now regarding upgrading my grinder for espresso's (double shots) mainly and have definitely decided to go with the Mignon series..

There are a couple Mignon Mk2's going for £200

There is also  a Specialita going for £300 brand new! I think it's because it's in white, which doesn't bother me at all.

I am new to this coffee game and have not really dialled in before but I will spend a day with my brother who's a trained coffee barista so I'll have a decent starting point.

Is the Specialita worth the extra money over the Mk2? Would the extra features suit me more as a "newbie"?

Thanks in advance

Edited by ChrisKon
Extra info
43 minutes ago, ChrisKon said:

Hey, I've posted a couple times now regarding upgrading my grinder for espresso's (double shots) mainly and have definitely decided to go with the Mignon series..

There are a couple Mignon Mk2's going for £200

There is also  a Specialita going for £300 brand new! I think it's because it's in white, which doesn't bother me at all.

I am new to this coffee game and have not really dialled in before but I will spend a day with my brother who's a trained coffee barista so I'll have a decent starting point.

Is the Specialita worth the extra money over the Mk2? Would the extra features suit me more as a "newbie"?

Thanks in advance

The Specialità has bigger burrs too, and a much better, accurate timer than the MK2. 

either will work well for you. Personally... I’d go for the Specialità. 

• Like 2

Current: Lelit Elizabeth / Niche Zero / VST baskets / Distilled water + 100mg NaCO3/L

Previous: Gaggia Classic | Eureka Mignon | Rocket Cellini Evo | Profitec 700 | Profitec T-64 | Gene Cafe CBR-101 | Kinu M68 | Feldgrind 2 | La Pavoni Europiccola 2012

Also at: CoffeeTime Forum & Niche Zero Owners Group

1 hour ago, ChrisKon said:

If that's from a proper dealer it might before VAT, I'd double check that price.