IGNORED

Bean mass too low after roasting

Hi all, 

I have just purchased a new Kaldi Mini roaster to learn how to roast coffee. 

I started with 200g green beans (Guatamala Washed), and roasted it through 11 mins whilst taking down the temperatures at each minute, recorded charge temp, first crack, etc. I have done this about three times and still the same result.

The main issue is, that somehow I have managed to almost halve the mass of the beans (200g->120g), and cannot seem to understand why? I have read that usually the expected loss of mass due to water is 12-25 percent, and for some reason my weight loss has been approx 40-50 percent... I did not burn the beans (or at least I don't think so), and the roasts were on the medium to dark side.

I am completely new to this, but really want to learn how to roast a good batch. If there is a glaringly obvious mistake, I will be very happy to learn it.

PS. first post, hi guys!

I don't think that the loss of mass is a problem, if the beans taste good after a few days of degassing then everything is ok. Perhaps the beans have a high moisture content to start with. You could try some different beans and see how they compare or roast another batch a bit lighter and compare these results too. At the end of the day a good tasting coffee is the result that matters, if you have that then it doesn't really matter how you got there.

28 minutes ago, alanmason said:

I don't think that the loss of mass is a problem, if the beans taste good after a few days of degassing then everything is ok. Perhaps the beans have a high moisture content to start with. You could try some different beans and see how they compare or roast another batch a bit lighter and compare these results too. At the end of the day a good tasting coffee is the result that matters, if you have that then it doesn't really matter how you got there.