IGNORED

58.5 mm leveller options

Hi everyone, 

I am considering to buy a leveller. I read that some people  use it alone without a tamper and I would like to give it a go. I am an absolute newbie and it seems a way of getting consistent distribution. 

Finding a 58 mm leveller is an straightforward task but as far as I know, the ideal size is 58.5 to not get coffee lines around the basket's edge.  Popular options like "Asso Coffee the jack coffee leveller" and the "OCD" models are a bit on the pricey side (💷). 

Is someone aware of a reasonably priced 58.5 mm leveller? I did search the forum but I couldn't find much info (maybe I missed it? Tamping seems more popular maybe)

I appreciate your time, thanks!

17 minutes ago, Hopebrewer said:

Thanks @CocoLoco !! Do you know if the depth can be adjusted? It seems you can but I didn't find much info about it.

Yes it can be. I actually had the 54mm version about 5 months ago. The minimum this Motta goes is about 7.3/7.5mm which is fine for most people it seemed, it just wasn't enough for some coffees in a 54mm portafilter. When I used a coffee that was very large in the pf and say 19g of it, 7mm was too much. I've since bought a 54mm one that goes much lower, same with my palm tamper.

• Like 1

I have the 58.5mm Motta distribution tool and it works perfectly. It's plenty adjustable, in fact I almost have it at it's minimum as I put 18g in a 17g basket.

I was in the same boat as you... couldn't justify so much on an OCD/Saint Anthony Industries leveller. I went with the motta for a quarter or the price... and you know what, it's brilliant. Incredibly well made, really can't imagine the quality getting any/much better and it works a treat! Can't recommend it enough... Go for it.

Good luck!

• Like 4
On 17/11/2020 at 21:58, CocoLoco said:

couldn't resist the urge to see what the leveller fuss was all about, just ordered one

Edited by ZiggyMarley
  • Like 2
6 hours ago, JA92 said: