IGNORED

Mokka Pot advice

I got rid of my old Mokka Pot when I got the Gaggia Classic, but might have another go with one.  I have a few questions if you wouldn't mind helping?

• Is Bialetti the best, or are they all very similar
  • Any other brands stand out
  • If I get a 6 cup, can I half fill it for a smaller drink
  • Is Stainless Steel advisable over aluminium

I have a Niche grinder, so confident I'll be able to get the best out of it.

Thinking of using it to make a nice, large mug of coffee to add milk to, so I'm thinking a 6 cup size will get me 2 drinks?

Anything smaller than 6 cup I find faffy, and pointless, but I drink it strong. I'd always personally choose steel anything over aluminium, but that may be me being over health cautious. I'm no expert though, it's my holiday camping coffee of choice as it's an all in one thing over a tiny gas stove!

I'm no expert, but for what it's worth: 

Alessi are also very well made - you might prefer the designs. 

You can't half fill a 6 cup as they are designed to work for that number of cups. I.e. that amount of water through that much coffee - someone who knows physics will be better able to explain. 6 cups for 2 drinks sounds right. 

Aluminium won't work on induction without an induction plate. 

Watch James Hoffman's video.

This is a good thread of you've not read it:

Apparently an aeropress filter on top of the coffee can lead to good results in the cup. Not tried it yet. 

• Like 1
20 minutes ago, SuffolkDoug said:

IApparently an aeropress filter on top of the coffee can lead to good results in the cup. Not tried it yet. 

It does indeed. It gives a good, nice, clean cup. I find Mokka pot too strong sometimes, and there's a lot of silt in the cup in the end. With the Aeropress filter on top of the coffee, you get none of that. 

Current: Lelit Elizabeth / Niche Zero / VST baskets / Distilled water + 100mg NaCO3/L