IGNORED

1963 Europiccola rebuild

I've been keeping an eye out for a vintage Europiccola, and finally managed to get my hands on a completely original 1963 model (v1.3 according to Francesco's site). 

I've given it a good check over, and considering it's nearly 60 years old it's in really good condition. The chrome is almost perfect, and while the base has a few dings, the paint is still original. Personally I value originality and patina above anything else so I'm not planning to repaint it, I'll just give everything a good clean.

Of course there are a couple of jobs that need doing:
  • It needs a set of seals, since water is leaking from the top of the grouphead whenever there's pressure in the boiler. Does anyone in the UK sell seals for the very early models, or will I need to order them from Francesco?
  • The rubber sub-base is missing.
  • The La Pavoni badge is missing from the front of the base.

I'll post a few pics up on here as I strip it down. I'm completely new to lever machines, so I'm sure I'll have a few questions as I go!

PXL_20201023_084208672 (1).jpg

• Like 4

have you opened it up yet? shaft seal is shot with the leak you mentioned in the opening post but I would be interested to see inside the group with piston out (i have small stock of new Pav lever parts so could check PN's to see if anything carries over.. obvs this is very old so doubtful 😞 ) I also have some early group head bits kicking about from services which might work.

• Thanks 1

Beautiful machine. I’m sure that Francesco can supply parts. And I’ve seen some of the rubber bases on eBay for around 20 euros. If you’re part of the Facebook la Pavoni group, you might get other tips for where to source parts.

• Thanks 1

Thanks everyone, I've already emailed Francesco and he's able to supply the seals and the badge. The only problem is he's away at the moment so he can't post them right now. Looks like I'll just have to be patient...