IGNORED

Essentials

Hi all,

Another newbie here - rapidbly barrelling towards my first espresso setup. Already have a  Sage/Breville Smart Grinder Pro and am currently in the process of finding the right machine (Looking at all the 'classic' first machines at the moment - Gaggia Classic, Rancilio Silvia et al). 

Just wondering if there are any items considered essential that people would recommend? I'm thinking along the lines of tamp mats (and tampers for that matter).

Currently on my list I've got a frothing jug, 'decant tamper' and a couple of espresso/cappuccino cups.

What else should I have in mind?

Thanks in advance!

15 minutes ago, Keggs said:

Hi all,

Another newbie here - rapidbly barrelling towards my first espresso setup. Already have a  Sage/Breville Smart Grinder Pro and am currently in the process of finding the right machine (Looking at all the 'classic' first machines at the moment - Gaggia Classic, Rancilio Silvia et al). 

Just wondering if there are any items considered essential that people would recommend? I'm thinking along the lines of tamp mats (and tampers for that matter).

Currently on my list I've got a frothing jug, 'decant tamper' and a couple of espresso/cappuccino cups.

What else should I have in mind?

Thanks in advance!

Decant tamper?

Tamping mats, obviously. They should be cheap. I'd probably get a portafilter stand/platform thing if I were buying again. Depending on the machine you buy you'll need accessories to match the portafilter size. If you're going for 58mm then it future proofs you a bit as when/if you upgrade you will be able to carry over the tampers and stuff to the new setup.