BeanToCup or not BeanToCup

Hi All

Been a lurker for many a months, mostly for reseach as most people tend to have the same first question. 

Ever since Lockdown i do miss my morning Costa Coffee....im more of a latte drinker as opposed to espresso drinker.  I have been having debates with my brothers for a while now about how to best replace this coffee experience as we all have nespresso machines, dont get me wrong i think they are great but i dont feel like its the same experience as a coffee from a barista regardless of what George Clooney thinks. 

As a beginner i now understand the most important part of a good coffee is in the grinding of the beans.  So one of my first questions would be do beginners jumpstraight in with a niche zero or maybe a grinder that is almost but not quiet as good as the niche zero in my head im thinking sage grinder pro ...or something like that. 

Iv decided on the gaggia classic pro/2019 or whatever they call it for my coffee machine as it seems to be the go to for most beginners.  Also as it has the potential to be still in existence for atleast a good few years, and plenty of mods available.

My Borthers are saying im wasting my time and money with the faffing around with the grinding etc.. they are saying just go straight to bean to cup machine.  My brother has just bought himself a mellita solo without the steamer.  He thinks this will be a better setup than my niche zero and gaggia classic......

The bean to cup cost him £300 so in terms of money he would be saving money compared to what i had in mind. 

After lots of research im now worried he may be right, or is all this coffee drinking down to personal taste.  If i was to like a particular coffee bean and i then took it to my brothers house he tried the same beans and it taste horrible would that be becasue of his machine or just down to personal taste.