Changing dose with/without grind size to guide taste?

I'm still fairly new to the world of great espresso. Early on I picked my 18g IMS BaristaPro basket for a steady 18g dose and was thankful that I could keep this one variable constant -- dose -- in what's been a tough learning curve and what seems to be a sea of variables.

But the more I research the more I read about people changing dose in conjunction with grind size (and potentially with basket change) to drive taste for different roast levels and beans. I'm currently on a journey to try as many different beans (types and roasts) as possible, in succession, in order to figure out what I like. I drink milk drinks exclusively.

I understand that the driving factor is grind size in order to increase/decrease surface area for water to act as the solvent that it is. But I don't get the rationale behind changing dose accordingly in order to maintain flow the same (I don't even fully understand why flow speed is important, or even if it is). Nor do I understand how to pick a dose given a roast profile.

I've read in some places that lighter roasts require a finer grind and a lower dose. But then I've read in other places that they need a finer grind and a HIGHER dose. It's all a bit confusing. Is the reverse true for darker roasts?

Can someone break this down for me to help me work out how and when I might make those decisions? Or link to some resources?

Profitec Pro 700, Ceado E37S with SSP Red Speed burrs (single dosing). Exclusively consuming milk based espresso drinks. Currently enjoying yo-yo’ ing between light and dark roasts to understand my taste buds.

Dose &  ratio make little difference to flavour balance, assuming all is working as it should. If your extractions are falling a little short, you might try dropping dose by 1g or so...but drop it too far and extractions will drop again (as they will if you overdose for your basket).