IGNORED

New Specialita questions

As a Newbie I am struggling to know where to start with a new Gaggia Classic and new Specialita grinder, there seem to be so many variables!

The grinder adjustment is marked with numbers but does the dial rotate more than once? If so the suggested scale isn’t much help.  

Does the motor need to be running while adjusting the grind and can I damage it by going too fine?

Does aiming for 18g of coffee in the filter with 36g of expresso in 30 seconds sound like a good starting point?

no idea how long a grind that would take!

So any advice would be appreciated 

@Geoff - This has come up a bit recently with the Eurekas. Some good suggestions on previous threads.

Needs adjusting with the motor running. You can lock the burrs and or damage the motor cranking it down finer without turning. Your starting dose/time sound reasonable.

Have a play around turning the dial by hand with no beans to hear a chirp, or unplug&switch off to turn the central nut by hand to do the same thing.

Buy 2kg of coffee and see how you go. Welcome to the rabbit hole 😉 

As a Newbie I am struggling to know where to start with a new Gaggia Classic and new Specialita grinder, there seem to be so many variables!
The grinder adjustment is marked with numbers but does the dial rotate more than once? If so the suggested scale isn’t much help.  
Does the motor need to be running while adjusting the grind and can I damage it by going too fine?
Does aiming for 18g of coffee in the filter with 36g of expresso in 30 seconds sound like a good starting point?

Tighten the adjusting knob till it stops. This should be about -0.5ish, then take it back to +1 and start there.
Don't have it turned on when doing this because the burrs will hit together. And no beans in it either.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

On 02/08/2020 at 21:17, Geoff said:

The std Gaggia baskets are 14g.

In my experience, that about max.