Diggerpitt

Gaggia Classic help

Hi all,

Ive just signed up and am looking for some advice in using my Gaggia Classic.

I’m new to all this so please bear with me.
My grinder in a krups gxv 2.

Im not getting any crema ,or very little on my shots.Ive tried varying the grind size but experience the same result.Im distributing the coffee ok I think and tamping ok but not having any luck.Im certainly not getting 60ml in 30s as would seem is the norm.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome.

I am not sure that grinder is suitable for espresso.

When were the beans you are using roasted? 

How long does it take for a double shot to come through? 

David 

www.blackcatcoffee.co.uk

Coffee | Equipment | Accessories | Service & Repair

Fracino | Eureka | Motta | IMS

Hi,Thanks for replying to my post.The coffee was roasted May this year.A double shot takes roughly 30sec but it doesn’t have any crema. The coffee doesn’t have the consistency seen on all the videos available,it sort of trickles out on the finest grind setting or comes out too quickly on courser settings.I thought maybe it was the grinder but seen comments that it’s ok.Pretty stuck at the moment.

99% sure it's the grinder. I did look at the GXV2 when I was looking for a grinder, and then I saw the burrs and walked away. They're the lowest of the low end of burr grinders with big breaker blocks that smash the beans to pieces before a small grinding surface completes the task. If you get it fine enough for espresso, you'll end up with lots of super-fine dust known as fines, which either block up holes in the basket or end up in your cup.