Alan94

8 year old Silvia V3 with PID and pressure gauge

Posted (edited)

Hey guys,

I'm looking at coffee machines and I'm between a brand new Bambino Plus for £329 (2 years warranty) or an 8 year old used Rancillio Silvia V3 with an Auber PID for around £300-£325. I am a newbie when it comes to espresso and this would be my first espresso machine. I'm curious as to what you think would be the best direction to go in. I have a Eureka Mignon grinder.

Thanks

Edited by Alan94

Posted (edited)

@Alan94 What is the Silvia condition like?

I think the chassis in them is painted mild steel not stainless, that combined with the way the vent tube goes can lead to frame rusting issues in some cases.

Definitely worth seeing some pics with the drip tray removed if you can’t see it in person.

Think the Silvia could be fun if you like tinkering with machines as a bit of a hobby plus has a 58mm portafilter I believe. The Bambino is less user maintainable but you have a warranty.

Edited by Northern_Monkey

They have said that the main body is stainless steel, that they have changed the group head gasket for a silicon one and that the drip tray does indeed have some rust but should be fixable with some Hammerite paint?

I think overall it looks like it is in good condition but I have no experience with espresso machines so don't know what to look out for or the right questions to ask.

Screenshot_20200526-153126_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153117_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153111_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153106_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153102_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153057_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153039_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153033_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20200526-153025_eBay.jpg

Posted (edited)

Thanks for the pics, body is stainless but the chassis is not. The rust level doesn’t look too crazy but could do with treating and painting.