I was a visitor to the forums for a few weeks before purchasing a new espresso set-up. I found the information here extremely useful, and have joined in order to give something back. I bought a Eureka Mignon Manuale and Lelit Grace (PL81T) machine, replacing a Krups Expert and De Longhi Scultura that had served me well for two and a half years. Here are my comments on the Lelit Grace PL81T  for anyone considering it. Note that I'm an amateur compared with many on the forums.

• One of my buying criteria was that the machine could cope with a mug without my having to remove the drip tray (and make a mess). I know that probably sounds heretical to many here, but hey ho. There are *very few* prosumer machines that can cope with filter-to-base heights of more than 8cm. The Lelit VIP range (of which the Grace PL81T is the entry-level machine) has a clearance of around 10cm. A removable wire stand is provided to lift up a smaller cup.
  • I would have liked a dual-boiler machine, but decided I couldn't afford it. This was the trade-off I made. The PL81T has PID control, heats up quickly and looks good (to me anyway). I am prepared to wait a little longer for my steam. It takes a couple of minutes to switch from coffee-temperature to steam-temperature and vice-vers. It doesn't have to be done often - it's not a problem. I know the temperature's going to be pretty accurate when I need it to be.