Sign in to follow this  
Paladimathoz

Complete Newbie Budget Around £400-500 for an espresso machine and grinder.

Have a friend in the states who says I should be getting a gaggia classic but wasn't sure if they are easily purchased over here have seen a few threads on this forum.

Could do with some help and advice if possible.

400-500 quid? That's tight. I mean, I did it with 200, but that required picking up a lot of used gear and getting lucky when they worked perfectly when rebuilt.  

Gaggia classics are easy to get. If you don't mind used, then good classics come around regularly here at the £150-200 mark, which leaves 300 to get a grinder, which should just stretch to a Eureka Mignon. If you choose to buy a used Classic on ebay or other such sites, then pay a price assuming it's in need of at the very least a full strip down and cleaning, new gaskets and some spares like new shower screen and baskets.  Fortunately, Gaggia machines are super-common and parts are readily available.

Gear:

Gaggia Baby 2001, Gaggia Color 2007, Delonghi Dedica, Severin grinder, Marcfi badged Compak K6 2004

Sent from my grinder using smoke signals.

15 hours ago, Paladimathoz said:

Have a friend in the states who says I should be getting a gaggia classic but wasn't sure if they are easily purchased over here have seen a few threads on this forum.

That's doable. Also remember the price of extras such as a tamper, milk pitcher, scales, cups etc. By the time you add it all on it can add a fair bit.

I started in a gaggia classic that I got off ebay for £100 (still in use, just modded it a bit!) and a eureka mignon which I think was about £150 or £160 also from ebay. 

If you can find similar then that should leave some room in the budget for extras 😊

Others have found some great deals on ex commercial grinders like the mazzer super jolly. For me, they're generally too bulky for a small kitchen and not very pretty, but it's a great grinder.