JamesMac

best setup for couple coffees a day

Hi Folks,

I am James and i Have been using bean to cup for around 18 months. We purchased a siemens built in coffee machine at work for a display kitchen and i got hooked pretty quick on expresso machiattos. I also spent a month in Australia recently visiting the local coffee shops a few times a day and was amazed how much better the coffee was than from my Bean to cup machine. I enjoy a latte when visiting the independent coffee shops but don't like the ones from the bean to cup machine as they are far too weak and milkly even with it adjusted down to be less milky and maximum strength double shot. I've tried quite a few different beans and have been recently enjoying Kenya blue mountain by coffeedirect.co.uk.

I am now fed up of having instant coffee at home and was about to push the button on a magnifico S bean to cup as my uncle has one that i quite liked but while looking around i came across this forum and had a read, it became apparent quite quickly that These machines are no use and that id be better off with a separate expresso machine with wand and a grinder. The trouble is i have 4 young children in the house and i am up for my first coffee around 6am, I'm a little worried that a grinder might make a racket and wake them up . the Magnifico S that my uncle has grinds very quietly indeed but im assuming that's because its built into the machine housing and gets some form of insulation from it.

Can anyone help recommend a good bean grinder that will be maybe a little on the quieter side? i See the Gaggia classic seems to be a big hit around here which i can get online for around £400 new.

Cheers,

James

The sage duo temp pro comes highly recommended. 

But from reading the money is in the grinder

Posted (edited)

There's a PIDd Classic in the for sale section right now. Worth a look but you'll need to engage with the forum a bit more before you can post responses there.