johnb80

In Search of Beans Similar to COSTA

I'm a newbie here so please be gentle with me. Im about to retire and have bought myself a Sage Barista Express following reading a few reviews.

I like the taste of COSTA Latte's and thats my aim, can anyone recommend suitable beans to get close to this flavour?

Many thanks in anticipation, any advice greatly appreciated.

J

Posted (edited)

Costa possibly! I am sure they sell them, if they are still open. You will find a big difference between recently roasted beans (as in days) and the stuff Costa sell which may have been roasted months earlier. If you roast a bean, allow it to settle for a few days to degass then open the bag and store it correctly in a vacuum cylinder or similar, it will taste fresh for several weeks, but, if it is already 3 months old when you open it.....it may take you 2 weeks to use 250 gms, it takes then 5 minutes

Edited by dfk41

Evening and welcome, Costa Latte's are like hot milk no coffee required so your golden. I would try getting some beans from a Supermarket like Union and a few others knocking around.

SAGE IS NOT A UPGRADE

:)

Take coffee scoop,

Go to back garden,

Scoop approximately 18 grams of dirt, 

Put dirt in portafilter,

Make sure espresso runs through in less than 15 seconds,

Add so much milk you can only get the faintest taste of dirt in the back of your mouth, 

And there you have it, Costa latte! 

Seriously though, are costa still using robusta blend? If so any Italian roast is probably going to be similar.  

• Haha 2

I do use Costa if I am left with no choice that is Rare these days.

SAGE IS NOT A UPGRADE

:)

I'm a newbie here so please be gentle with me. Im about to retire and have bought myself a Sage Barista Express following reading a few reviews.
I like the taste of COSTA Latte's and thats my aim, can anyone recommend suitable beans to get close to this flavour?

Many thanks in anticipation, any advice greatly appreciated.

J

Hi john. And welcome!