I was reading the Brita testing thread and was interested to see other people experimenting with Zero Water. I started playing around with water a few weeks ago for pour over coffee and was really surprised by the impact on taste . I ended up having to grind much finer when using Zero Water to achieve an acceptably full taste. Adding powders (Third Wave) helped send the grind someway back the other way. 

I much preferred the Zero Water (plus Third Wave) to Brita water.

Unfortunately, I found the Zero Water cartridges much too expensive. Family of four with weekend and morning/ evening weekday use, I have just finished my third filter at a cost of £45 (approx. £1000, annualised).

I’ve just set up an Osmio Zero in the kitchen and hoping for better filter life compared with the ZeroWater.

Curious to hear if anyone else has had similar experiences with ZeroWater filter life. 

(FYI I’m in North London (Finchley) and TDS meter shows 250 (so not off the scale).

Ps thanks to DaveC for the helpful review.

Edited by AJP80
Thanks to DaveC
  • Like 1

I only use mine for tea & coffee, so about a litre per day, cutting 3 parts with 1 part tap water (depending on how the perceived acidity is in the coffee). 

TDS is 236 and a cartridge lasts 3-4 months (unless you replace every 2 months, in line with sanitary recommendations).

I'm not sure I understand the changes in grind relative to water used?

5 minutes ago, AJP80 said:

Thanks Mark. I found I needed to grind finer to extract more flavour. I found the Zerowater made the pour over taste much more underextracted compared with the Brita.

Well, a brew with little or no alkalinity water will be brighter & have less body than otherwise, but it doesn't make any difference to measurable extraction, just to taste. It would be simpler to check the extraction is ball park & then adjust the alkalinity of the brew water to taste, whilst keeping the same grind setting.