Cup_of_Joe

Advice on gear for a newbie please :)

Hi

I am excited to get into the coffee world. My budget is around the £550-£650 mark but I can be flexible either way. I am detail obsessed (lawyer!) but also a complete newbie to the world of good coffee.

I like to drink espressos as well as milky drinks like flat whites, lattes and cappuccinos.

I have narrowed my choices down to two, very different options and would be grateful for anyone's input. My thoughts are also below and I would be grateful for anyone's comments on them too in case I am way off! 

Option 1) Gaggia classic refurbished w/ PID, Rancilo Wand (£350 offered by Faircycler who will rebuild an old machine and mod to order) and second hand Eureka Mignon Grinder (expecting to pay around £200). 

- Pro's: Seems like proper kit. Makes good coffee. Should hold its value. Flexibility to learn. £100 cheaper than below option 

- Cons: The risk of second hand kit breaking and being out of pocket, need to learn skills to do decent milk, I know nothing about electrics so could not mod this myself if there were issues. Harder to Maintain.. 

Option 2) Sage Barista Touch. £650 (Costco)

- Pro's: Supposed to be amazing for milk. Costco offer amazing warranties so any issues I will be covered. Self maintaining. Built in PID. Built in Grinder. 

- Cons: Concerned about how good the coffee aspect of this machine is e.g. baskets are pressurised. Grinder not as good? 

Thanks in advance for your help.

Edited by Cup_of_Joe
Typo

Option 1. For all the reasons you mentioned. And if the Classic breaks it can be easily repaired, all parts readily available. But the main reason is the grinder and upgradability.

GS3 MP, Ceado E92 and E37s, Feldgrind. Niche.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Plus 1 for option one mainly as you will have should needed good upgrade route