Uriel4953

Forgiving Beginner Beans

Looking for a bean recommendation for a total beginner. Preferably something as forgiving as possible. I really enjoyed Bukeela ka ethopia which was a single origin nesspresso pod. Using either a Gaggia classic or Sage Duo temp for brewing. I generally take my coffee with a small amount of milk or condensed milk.

Niche Zero -- Sage DTP

Blends are a good way to go for a beginner. They're cheaper, and can be really delicious. They typically have a more developed roast profile making them easier to dial in (especially for less capable grinders), too. 

Rave blends are popular and very keenly priced:

https://ravecoffee.co.uk/collections/coffee-bean-blends

Best blend I've had recently is (also very keenly priced, £21 inc. p&p):

https://cartwheelcoffee.com/misspent-youth-v16.html

The blueberry from the ethiopian is quite pronounced in the finish/aftertaste when you've got it dialled in correctly. 

Vesuvius + Niche Zero // V60 + MBK Aerspeed

I started on the Coffee Compass blends. Best piece of advice I got was pick one bean/blend & stick with it for a while. It's alot easier than having to dial in every 250g

• Like 2

Laissez les bons temps rouler

36 minutes ago, ashcroc said:

I started on the Coffee Compass blends. Best piece of advice I got was pick one bean/blend & stick with it for a while. It's alot easier than having to dial in every 250g

Second this - bonus points if you can get it all from the same batch! (ie 1kg bag and freeze)

Second this - bonus points if you can get it all from the same batch! (ie 1kg bag and freeze)
Never frozen a bean in my life & suffered no detriment when I was getting the 3x500g packs.

14 minutes ago, ashcroc said:
29 minutes ago, Cooffe said:

Never frozen a bean in my life & suffered no detriment when I was getting the 3x500g packs.

Really? Did you not find it degassed and went stale? I’m assuming the op doesn’t have an airscape or similar.