Busy bee coffee

How many grams of coffee.

Hi guys, quick question, for cappuccino, flat white etc how many grams of quality ground coffee would you use?

the coffee company I’m in talks with say they recommend 19grams of quality ground coffee beans per drink, but suggested I could use single shot which is 7.5grams, or a double shot that’s 15 grams or for best taste to use 19grams per coffee?

seems a vast difference in profit from 7.5 grams per coffee to 19 grams! That’s almost treble the difference.

what would you guys suggest?

obviously I’m going to experiment with all 3 but just seeing what you experienced guys think?

thank you 

Johnny

Yes yes I get that!  but my point is if I’m selling a standard coffee, then that’s single shot? And if the person wants a double shot then no problem but there’s an extra say 40p charge as a apposed to a standard coffee which is a single shot?

or do you do a double shot as standard?

I'm new to this so bare with me lol

A double is a standard shot in a milk based drink sold in a coffee shop isn’t it? Then extra shots for the hardcore at extra cost. A 7.5g shot is going to be rather lost in a 12 oz milk drink

• Thanks 1

Have you been out and bought coffees from all the shops and vans in your area? That might be a good thing to,do, check what the competitors are doing.

• Thanks 1

If it's any help, Starbucks handily tell you how many shots they use in each of their drinks.

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

Laissez les bons temps rouler

One factor is the coffee and portafilter/machine used, some coffees will touch the screen at 18g, some won't, depends on bean density and you may have to down dose some. Some coffees I roast are like that.