rssfrncs

Total newbie gifted an old Ascaso Dream

Hi everyone,

I've just been gifted an old Ascaso Dream (i'm not worthy). I understand that this is quite an expensive machine so I want to get up to speed with espresso making and make my crappy Delonghi 4200 redundant!

I have a few questions:

1. Should the pressure gauge sit at around 5 bars when the machine is warming up?
  2. Once the coffee pilot light is off (and the machine is ready?) once switched on the gauge jumps to around 10 bars.
  3. It was sat unused for a good few years am i okay to flush it with white wine vinegar or do i need something stronger?

Thanks!

MVIMG_20191007_200644.jpg

• Like 3

Congrats on your new acquisition. I would get some sachets of puly and give it a thorough clean through before making coffee or raising suspicions about other faults.

Once happy with the cleaning then have a good and see what it does.

The 5 bar thing, I don’t know to be honest. Maybe that’s the standby pressure or something. Not sure

Anyway hope this helps. I’ve always liked the look of these so nice to see one on the forum.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Home - Nuova Simonelli MAC2000 V, La Pavoni, Compak e8, Niche Zero, IMS & VST baskets, IMS shower screen, skateboard torr, MildredM bar towels

@SkateReclaimCreate

Congrats on your new acquisition. I would get some sachets of puly and give it a thorough clean through before making coffee or raising suspicions about other faults.

Once happy with the cleaning then have a good and see what it does.

The 5 bar thing, I don’t know to be honest. Maybe that’s the standby pressure or something. Not sure

Anyway hope this helps. I’ve always liked the look of these so nice to see one on the forum.

Joey means puly descaler by the way, not to be confused with puly caff. Citric acid would also work.

I suspect the 5 bar is just the pressure caused by the water heating up in the boiler.
  • Like 1

Laissez les bons temps rouler

Hi everyone,