CoolingFlush

Any love for "traditional" Italian beans?

Hi, 

I'm just reaching out to see whether anybody has any love for old school, made in Italy, traditional espresso beans. I'm not talking about Rave Italian Job, or Union Revelation, but the likes of Kimbo, Mokarabia, Hausbrandt, even - dare I say - Illy/Segafredo/Lavazza?!? 😱

Yes, my usual beans will be Rocko Mountain, or Honduran, or some 'modern' espresso blend, but I do like the occasional guilty pleasure of some dark, industrial, crema-heavy beans. A cafe near me (Ginevra) actually sells a 100% Robusta from Sicily, which I like to partake in occasionally.

I imagine people might say "no roast date" and "robusta is evil", but is this coffee fundamentally beneath us, as coffee nerds, is it genuinely unpleasant, or can we dabble? I'd love to hear a recommendation for a particular Italian bean, from someone who also drinks 'modern' coffee.

Cheers 

I'm still new in the world of espresso really so I'm still trying things. I have had Lavazza from the supermarket, the Oro ones, they are drinkable but I don't enjoy them like I do other fresh beans.

I think from my experience so far I prefer lighter roasts, I had some LSOL beans that were amazing, really need to get on another LSOL list actually.

I would be tempted to try some Illy beans, but they are more expensive than Lavazza, priced closer to fresh beans that are also likely to be much better.

You mentioned Union Revelation, I've had these a couple of times, last time I found them too dark.

Is it just me or do lighter roasts seem to be more popular now?

Niche Zero, Lelit Bianca, Claris Ultra filter, Torr Tamper with NickNak handle, BT Wedge distribution tool, Felicita ARC scales, MildredM towels. Fully converted by Coffee Forums UK.

I am light roast person as well. I shy away from anything dark.