Deidre

Should I buy a used “first run Londinium 1”, or buy new LR?

I am new to espresso machines, although I have used the Pavoni (with good success). I prefer the more Italian style espresso, yet I don’t often find a great one to be had in most cafes these days. It is time to make the espressos I like at home (& for our guests, as well). I want to avoid future machine upgrades, so my question is, do I go for a used Londinium 1 (interested in one I saw that is advertised as a “first run Londinium 1”... & what exactly does “first run” indicate?) or do I forget the used, save up & buy a new Londinium? Thank you for any insight or guidance you can provide.

The newer R will have more flexibility with the transducer capability and the impending phone application to adjust pre infusion pressure. But I guess it also depends on price, whether you have a preference for a certain type of roast and whether the adjustability is worth it for you.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

• Like 1

Machine - Currently a Londinium R. Grinder - Niche. Tamper/distributor - Puqpress and Pullman Distribution and Big Step Palm Tamper.

38 minutes ago, Deidre said:

I am new to espresso machines, although I have used the Pavoni (with good success). I prefer the more Italian style espresso, yet I don’t often find a great one to be had in most cafes these days. It is time to make the espressos I like at home (& for our guests, as well). I want to avoid future machine upgrades, so my question is, do I go for a used Londinium 1 (interested in one I saw that is advertised as a “first run Londinium 1”... & what exactly does “first run” indicate?) or do I forget the used, save up & buy a new Londinium? Thank you for any insight or guidance you can provide.

If you are  dark roast loever get the l1 , the adjustable pre infusion isnt gong to have a huge impact or advantage on the kind of roasts you enjoy .

@coffeechap thoughts?

• Like 1

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...