puffin1

Grind settings for new coffee

Posted (edited)

Ok so I’m new to all this and quite frankly still find dialling in overwhelming and find I’m wasting a lot of coffee. 

Can anyone advise on grind size/dose of any of the rave coffees please? I’m using a Barista Express.  I know it’s personal preference to a point and different machines will produce different things but I’m just after a ball park figure. 

For example, I know Iron & Fire Colombian Jazz needs to be set on grind size 4 and the dosage dial on my sage to be around the 3o’clock mark using the single walled double basket on the preset double water dispense button. 

I’ve bought a few 250g of coffee lately and pretty much used the whole bag trying to dial it in. 

I’m just after a general place to start so I don’t tip my money down the sink, I won’t hunt you don’t if anything suggested doesn’t work out for me 😉

I currently have the Rave Signature and the Fudge blend if anyone has those to start off with but happy for advice on anything.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by puffin1

Ok so I’m new to all this and quite frankly still find dialling in overwhelming and find I’m wasting a lot of coffee. 
Can anyone advise on grind size/dose of any of the rave coffees please? I’m using a Barista Express.  I know it’s personal preference to a point and different machines will produce different things but I’m just after a ball park figure. 
For example, I know Iron & Fire Colombian Jazz needs to be set on grind size 4 and the dosage dial on my sage to be around the 3o’clock mark using the single walled double basket on the preset double water dispense button. 
I’ve bought a few 250g of coffee lately and pretty much used the whole bag trying to dial it in. 
I’m just after a general place to start so I don’t tip my money down the sink, I won’t hunt you don’t if anything suggested doesn’t work out for me