lee1980

Hard done by in work

Over the past year or so had a few issues in work, and last week had a verbal warning.  I work in construction drawing buildings for structural steel and concrete generally large buildings and we use like 3D software now to model in 3D.

They are saying my performance one project is to slow and comparing me to others etc when it is quite hard to quantify and explain a lot of factors affect speed in drawing production.

I have a laptop to and over past year put in a lot of evening hours and late nights to meet deadlines to.

my line manager and tech director called me in for this chat, saying im not fulfilling my role fully etc and not fast enough.  Seemed a bit harsh given others on my team doing same job do no extra ever.

This was said to me after working previous day 7:00am go home at 6pm and work until midnight!

Thanks

Lee. (R58 and Zenith 65e)

Posted (edited)

I'm not going to say how unjust this is as I'm not there and only have one half of the story.

You mention previous issues.  Were these valid issues ?

If there are factors impacting on your performance, make notes of all of these by way of justification, should the matter be taken further.

What was the outcome of the verbal warning ?  Were there targets to be met ?  Was the warning justified ? Did they take into account your reasons for the performance ?

I was never a fan of people taking work home with them or needing overtime to complete the work.  It means their workload is too high or they are not working effectively.