AlanB1976

Is lack of crema the beans?

Hi all

At the moment I'm not getting much crema at all. Probably a couple mils at the top. Nothing close to the YouTube vids I've seen. I have my grinder/machine dialed in at 1:2 at about 30s. I'm using Rave Fudge beans (approx 9 days old - not counting a couple of days in the freezer).

I am a complete novice so could easily be me but I would have thought by pure chance I would have hit some good crema but I never really have. Could it be the beans or am I missing something (or more likely stuffing something up)? 

Even if it is me, any recommendations on some good beans for crema? 

Thanks

Alan

This has been asked so many times with the same answer, ceama isn't important don't fret over it, if you have it ok, most will stir it in anyways, if you don't don't worry. Creama isn't the be all & end all, what the taste of the drink your producing is priority so concentrate on producing a tasty to you drink.

It doesn't matter how you get there it's only the end result that matters

Can't I have both? 

If I have guests over, I would love to show off the setup by a drink that is not only appealing on the taste buds but on the eyes as well. 

It can be the roast or freshness of beans along with a variety of other things, the crema will always dissipate as tile goes on, not substantially after 9 days unless there was a problem with the roast , I wouldn’t go off YouTube videos if I were you as they could just be using a dark roast Italian blend of robusta and arabica for the sake of the video, if you go on to coffeecompass website and read about the different espresso blends there are pointers in there that should help you choose one to your liking. What grinder and machine are you using?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1