Set-The-Edge

Help with Iberital MC2

Hello,

I recently bought a second hand Gaggia Classic with a Iberital MC2 grinder. I've read on this site that although not the best grinder it will be good enough for Espresso. I'm not looking to upgrade yet as I am very new to home coffee and want to try to get as much out of the equipment I've got before I upgrade.

My question is, how do I know when I've got to the finest grind the machine can perform? The knob just keeps turning and turning but my grind still seems to be too coarse. My espresso shot seems to run through in about 15 seconds.

Thanks 

The adjustment on the MC2 does take lots of turns.  If your shot is taking 15 seconds I'd look at 8 to 10 turns then try again.  

You will get an acceptable shot from the MC2 but adjustment is horrible.   If you do decide to upgrade your grinder at some point you'll notice a huge difference in the results

a grinder a lever and some beans

5 minutes ago, working dog said:

The adjustment on the MC2 does take lots of turns.  If your shot is taking 15 seconds I'd look at 8 to 10 turns then try again.  

You will get an acceptable shot from the MC2 but adjustment is horrible.   If you do decide to upgrade your grinder at some point you'll notice a huge difference in the results

Thanks, I'll give that a go. Is there no visual representation at all for what grind your currently at? Seems a big over sight in design, although I get it's a low end grinder.

I will definitely upgrade in the future, but just had my first baby daughter and money is going to be fairly tight for a little while, so would like to work with what I've got for the time being.

There should be a set of numbers around the hopper that are a guide but I found this pretty useless. 

MC2 will be ok but you'll find other grinders much easier to adjust.  Stick with it until you have the spare funds to upgrade

2 minutes ago, working dog said: