bronterre

Gaggia Classic - broken

This may be the lowest value item asked about for a while. My Gaggia Classic stopped working. It overheated and the thermal fuse went. Because it's got an Auber PID, and because I'm no engineer, I've decided that it would take me too long to fix it, assuming I could fix it. So, heart in mouth, I've bought a Lelit Mara new from Bella Barista. If and when it eventually goes wrong, I think I can trust them to guide me through what I need to do to fix it, as far as possible, even after the warranty expires.

So, I've got a broken machine: thermal fuse gone, and an unknown cause of the initial overheating. The set-up is as described in my signature. Now, I know that these machines aren't very expensive even when working, so at best I could ask for only a small fraction of that for a non-functioning article. My question is, is it reasonable ask for money (to defray at least a few quid of my scarily expensive new purchase) and if so how much, or should I just beg someone to take it off my hands for free if picked up, or for the cost of postage? It would be a terrible shame to take it, with all those lovingly installed add-ons, to the tip. 

Gaggia Classic (reconditioned pre-Phillips) with Rancilio wand, OPV mod., Auber PID with steam control and pre-infusion, brass dispersion plate, ims shower screen, Eureka Mignon, Hario Skerton that I'm not sure what to do with, Happy Donkey tamper, Sainsbury's jcloths

This may be the lowest value item asked about for a while. My Gaggia Classic stopped working. It overheated and the thermal fuse went. Because it's got an Auber PID, and because I'm no engineer, I've decided that it would take me too long to fix it, assuming I could fix it. So, heart in mouth, I've bought a Lelit Mara new from Bella Barista. If and when it eventually goes wrong, I think I can trust them to guide me through what I need to do to fix it, as far as possible, even after the warranty expires.