SootySport

Hi there everyone

Newbie here,  name is Bernie, the male kind.

Have a  Gaggia Brera simpleton machine purely for ease of use and I love it. Bought it 2 years ago from the Gaggia shop in Braintree and pleased I did as it was cheaper than any on line supplier, also given some freebies with it  and shown how to use it properly. 

Up to now my beans come from Holland, my cousin brings a selection of beans 3 or 4 times a year, current favourite is Tchibo 100% arabica but will be scouring the forum for other brands to try.

61AA36F7-659B-41C6-80AE-47DD909FA18A.jpeg

• Like 1

I can't believe Gaggia called their machine a Gaggia Brera Simpleton , but perhaps lost in translation. Interesting photo, the date code on the bottom of the bag hopefully states the coffee is good until 15/01/2020. This usually means it was roasted on 15/1/2019. If I assume this is a recent photo, then I believe you will get a huge benefit from the forum by recommendations of online roasters who actually put a "roast date" on the bag and then you can choose to drink coffee 1-6 weeks old and experience the true taste of fresh coffee. What's in that bag lost any shred of dignity and taste a long time ago.

The other thing you will quickly learn is that coffee is a bit like wine, buy cheap and you get really cheap greenbeans roasted to make the coffee. To give an example, green beans costing £2.35 per kg will produce 1kg roasted coffee at a cost of around £2.82 (because of weight losses). You can often be charged 5 times more because the market can bear that markup. The no idea what they are beans in that bag probably cost even less than my cheap bean example.

Beans costing £7 per Kg won't handle a 5 times markup because it makes the coffee too expensive, so might get marked up 3 or 3.5 times. This means you get a green bean costing almost 300% times more with it's far better quality, but only pay 60% more for the end product. This means pay more for your coffee, you get a lot more.