biggow

How to get the best out of lighter roasts

I'm still very new to the world of speciality coffee, but have tried a bunch of different coffees now, however I struggle get get a cup I really enjoy from any of the lighter roasts that I've had, and I don't know if that's purely because my tastes veer more towards medium to darker roasts, or because I'm not doing a great job of getting the best out of those lighter beans.

I mostly drink black americano and the occasional latte, and generally go with a 2:1 ratio, starting with 18g in and looking to get 36-40g out in around 28-30 seconds. Using that method I'm getting some fabulous results with some medium and darker roasted coffees (Rave Chatswood, Signature, Ozone Hodson and Tamper blend), but most of the lighter roasts I've tried (Drop tasting pack for instance) just seem completely underwhelming to me. So can anyone give some pointers to maybe tweak my basic recipe to bring the best out of those beans?

Hi Biggow,

I found this flow chart some time ago and found it helps dialling in no end:

9F095684-EA7E-4DE8-8C8A-6A2847D589FA.thumb.jpeg.24125078d8e216a2f18ddeac158f21ed.jpeg

full details of how to extract more/less discussed later in the article here:

https://baristahustle.com/blog/coffee-extraction-the-80-20-method/

If you have an iPad or iPhone record your findings on this app (couple of quid) to help you develop dialling in and to refer back to:

TasteBuddy - Tasting Journal by Semicomma LLC
https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/tastebuddy-tasting-journal/id1271020897

• Like 1

Ve ve suvivius.... /E37s/ Eazytamp / tupperware pot / completely healthy relationship with coffee (and bank manager).

If you're not drinking neat espresso at 1:2 ratio, then you could be shooting yourself in the foot by brewing that short & limiting the level of extraction you can hit.

Try a 1:4 shot with a light roast, top it up to the same weight as your usual Americano, how does it taste?