Sign in to follow this  
garethuk

Help with V60 - Hasbean (subscription) Brazil Carmo

Posted (edited)

Hi All,

Wondered if you might be able to help.  I’ve recently started a coffee subscription with Hasbean the first of which I received through was   ‘BRAZIL CARMO ESTATE PULPED NATURAL YELLOW BOURBON’… https://www.hasbean.co.uk/collections/america-brazil/products/brazil-carmo-estate-pn-yellow-bourbon

I have been brewing this via V60 and to me it tastes like burnt chocolate rather than the ‘milk chocolate’ I was expecting.  I’m fairly new to V60 brewing, done a good few brews with other beans using the Scott Rao method which I very much enjoyed.  I’ve been trying to do a method as follows…

16:1

225g (water) / 13.5g (coffee)

0:00 45g

0:45 90g

1:30 135g

2:15 180g

3:00 225g

Finishing in just under 4mins.  Done this about four times and each time it has the burnt chocolate taste.

Here’s some photos of my brew (see below).

I also shot a video.  Because I was holding the phone with one hand and doing the coffee my weights and timing slightly vary, but the taste is relatively similar to previous brews where this was more accurate.  Link to video...

Any thoughts, is it my method or the coffee?

Anyone else tried this coffee?

Thanks Gareth

coffee beans.jpg

coffee grounds.jpg

coffee final.jpg

coffee cup.jpg

Edited by garethuk
added in video link

Posted (edited)

Hi,  sorry for the delay, took me some time to get the video online.  

@Mrboots2u I've tried it both immediately from brewing and when cooled.  Probably tastes more burnt cooled.  But either way isn't a taste I'm keen on.

Edited by garethuk

Go a bit coarser. Your pouring is a bit splotty & aggressive (your bloom water should have been able to sit on the dose with the surface still being pretty wet, rather than the claggy mud you see) , I suspect the 'burnt' aspect is coming from silt being flushed through the the paper.