Hi there I have just bought what I believe to be a 2007 Gaggia Classic and am looking to do a full strip down as it has not been looked after :( . (it was at a price I couldn't say no to)

I have found the sticky 'So you've just bought your first Gaggia Classic' so useful and also found this resource: http://protofusion.org/wordpress/2012/04/gaggia-classic-disassembly-and-cleaning/ which seems to outline everything i need to do but is there anything else i need to be aware of?

I'm thinking a full gasket/ seal kit as well as a good descaler and cleaner would be essential ( just taken off the shower screen and it looks a little mouldy so not even thinking of using it until its been fully cleaned)

I have had it working with steam from the tiny steam wand(defo to be replaced) and water coming from the shower screen, assume this means the machine is worth spending the time getting it right?

I have some experience with an automatic La Spaziale at work but am so looking forward to getting to grips with a manual machine.

Any advice is much appreciated

its sounds like everything is working, but a full strip down and seal kit is always worth it

have a look on youtube for some videos of the process, its fairly straight forward but defo mark the wires and take photos as you go

keep calm and grind flat

The 4 allen screws holding the boiler to the brew head can / do corrode ,make sure you use the correct allen key / hex socket in order not to damage the heads. If they are severely corroded you may need Plus gas / WD 40 to help release, if this fails some heat may be required.

The Espresso Shop sells a good service kit. They're available a bit cheaper elsewhere without the stats which you won't need if fitting a PID (reccommend).

The V1/2 Silvia wand is a straight swap especially if you get a pre-modified one with a gaggia nut fitted (otherwise swap for the one on your current wand). The better V3 is more in depth to install due to needing to fit a bracket.