I've been using a Fracino Piccino and a Macap M5D for a few months, with varying success.

The grinder has 58mm flat burrs and the burrs appear to be in good condition. The machine was purchased new and has been cleaned regularly.

My shots vary from amazing to awful, some beans I can't dial in, some are easy, but the one recurring factor is an unpleasant sour note.

I use either a 15g basket with 16g in, 32 out, or a 21g basket with 21-22g in for 42ish out, more or less always around 30 seconds

I (think I) tamp consistently, and de clump the grind (the one thing that irks me about the grinder is the clumping) so prep and distribution seems consistent.

But some shots still just don't work, and are sour, and thin tasting.

I do get better results with my Feld2, no clumps, more expression in the cup, something approaching the tasting notes. Which has got me thinking it may be the grinder.

So, thoughts, the machine should be capable, the grinder isn't the best, but should be capable, I think I more or less know what I'm doing. Where is the weak link?

Hard to say what exactly is the weak part, though I'd expect you should be able to get decent shots with them.

You don't have to stick to a 2:1 - if it's sour you could try pulling it a little longer it might get you more balance, though likely not help with the thin tasting part - depending on what you mean.

Have you checked if the machine is level?

Everything my heart could desire (more or less). . .

https://cupperjoe.com

Yeah, the machine is level, I think by thin tasting I mean a lack of the mouthfeel I look for in a shot. I forgot to mention, I use a bottomless PF holder, and often get a lot of spritzing, even with what seems like a good tamp, and a well prepped grind. Obviously, the more sprizting, the more sour notes

Plus elusive mouthfeel can be a function of varietal and roast

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com

Instagram - rjw_inc