Sign in to follow this  
csrti946

For a newbie, a Sage Pro Smart or Mazzer SJ / Mini

Hi all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I have just purchased my first espresso machine (Gaggia) moving up from a stove-top pot. My question is, as a complete beginner, would it be better for me to buy a Sage Pro for versatility or a entry level Mazzer? I am unsure if the home barista hobby will take off or not, so I might end up going back to plungers, filters etc. I just thought that the Sage had more options for the different uses.

Cheers,

Tim

Working: Gaggia Classic, steam wand mod; 21g naked PF;  Sage SGP; Blind Shaker (faux); Espro P7;  In maintenance, Mazzer SJ, Gaggia Classic. 

I have a sage dose control pro. Like you, I'm super new to this espresso lark, but well and truly hooked.

Of the 60 settings the DCP has, it got all espressoy (I made that word up) around 9 on the dial. By the time I got to 4 I was getting 2x the liquid coffee out as coffee in over 27 seconds, which seems to be in the ball park of right. I'm waiting for proper fresh beans to dial in for taste and crema etc.

The DCP and the Sage Smart Grinder Pro use the same burrs from what I can see in reviews. It can just do a little more.

I was happy to settle for control over my grind being to the nearest second. Still great.

Also inside the burrs are a further 10 adjustments if you aren't getting your espresso fine enough. 3 was starting to choke my Dual Temp Pro.

My head has just exploded with the terminology. Clearly, I have a lot to learn more, but I if I have this right, Smart Pro can do a few more things without manual adjustment?

Working: Gaggia Classic, steam wand mod; 21g naked PF;  Sage SGP; Blind Shaker (faux); Espro P7;  In maintenance, Mazzer SJ, Gaggia Classic.