Hey

Please bear in mind this is only my 4th post, Im very new to brewing coffee and Im learning as much as I can as fast as I can.

I have a Sage DTP and a Sage Dose Control Pro grinder. Ive owned them about 4 days.

First attempts were using pre-ground 'espresso' coffee into the portafilter (approx 17g) and it pulled fast (even by my untrained eye), tasted bitter and even in a latte it was still bitter. But it had quite a nice crema.

Now Im learning to dial in my DTP using grind. I bought some medium roast, something or other beans from Sainsbury's fpr the purpose of experimentation.

I started at a grind size of 20 and a dose of 18g in shooting for 36g out over 30 seconds. Now, this was never going to happen, and I was around 17 seconds, but I needed to start somewhere. Pulled fast, tasted bitter and like earth and no crema.

By the time i got to grind size 5, I was down to 17g in the portafilter (or I was getting indentations from the shower), and 36g out over about 27 seconds. Taste was starting to be 'nicer' - but i had never drank neat espresso before so it was blowing my head off with how intense it tasted. Still little or no crema.

Now Im at size 3, pulling 35g from 17g / 18g in and over 30s. Makes a lovely latte (and by latte i mean espresso + milk and not the latte's you probably enjoy). But still no crema of note to report.

So whilst I create hilariously bad latte art (i really have no idea how to pour but I actually think Im getting good textured milk after 4 days practicing) - should I be worried why I have no real crema?

Help?

Many thanks

Methy

I recommend you buy some freshly roasted beans rather than the supermarket beans. Should improve the Crema. Lots to choose from as noted on the forum but Rave or Coffee Compass are a good place to start.