jt196

Espresso and acidity (is this how people drink it?)

I've been drinking espresso for 8 years now, only really getting serious about bean origin and roasting etc in the last 6-9 months. My OH is Italian and she is used to drinking the lighter Italian roasts like Lavazza. That's what we've been drinking in fact, until recently when I started roasting my own beans. I generally have enjoyed coffee roasted to Full City or Full City+ levels, where there's some origin character there, but there's also a creamy, full bodied, roasty profile. I've enjoyed some central American and Brazilian beans done this way.

I recently bought some beans from a well known coffee roaster in Sussex (Horsham), from a shop in Brighton (Bond St). I'll name them as there's no complaint here whatsoever and I'd be interested if anybody else has a similar experience with them. I asked for a low acidity, espresso bean. They gave me a Costa Rican bean. Took it home, first impression was that the bean was very light in colour, like just out of first crack, city light. It smelt lovely but I thought, holy shit this is going to have some acidity in an espresso. No shit. I actually took it back today, I was going to ask for a darker bean. The guy was very helpful, and told me yep, no problem I can have another bag if I find something more suitable. He made me an espresso with Brasilian beans, which looked lighter roasted, and yep, it was a little gentler on the acidity, but still too much to drink in short form. Turns out all their beans are roasted around about the same levels. He said they're done this way to appeal to all coffee drinkers (milk-based, pourover etc). I actually tried the coffee with a V60, but found the acidity a little bracing there too.

TBH I've little experience in the world of single origin, third wave coffee. We don't have an awful lot of these places down in Brighton, so I'm picking up experience slowly.