DayZer0

ECM Mechanika Slim high boiler pressure

Hi ECM owners

My Slim idles at 1.45 bar (but occasionally drops as low as 1.3 before you hear the heater kick back in).

The instructions say the machine heats up to 1 to 1.25 bar range. I did email ECM who said 1.45 is still within tolerances.

Anyway I wanted to ask what experience others have with this? My only comparison so far is based on looking at photos/videos machines online and it rarely looks like the boiler pressure is that high.

I'm a beginner so reluctant to start opening up the machine and experimenting, so hopefully everything is fine, just want some reassurance from those with more experience.

Thanks

I would reduce the pressure to 1.1-1.3 cycle, procedure is not so difficult

GaggiaEnthusiast

Buying expensive equipment won't make you barista!

I had heard that ecm machines came with the pressure slightly high. I got mine from Bella Barista, who I believe sometimes tweak them before sending out.

Anyway, I tweaked mine afterwards and asked BB about doing it. This is what they said;

‘I have the machine switched on when doing this but bear in mind when poking around inside that there is live electrics. Remove the top lid by removing the 4 x Allen key bolts and you will see the pressure stat in clear view. (see image below)

Using an insulated screw driver just turn the pressure stat a ¼ turn anti clockwise, then purge the steam for 10 seconds to activate the element and wait and watch until you see/hear the pressure stat click the element off. Clockwise turns the pressure up – Anti clockwise turns the pressure down.’

For what it’s worth, a quarter turn adjusted the pressure by about 0.2 bar.

e561ed9944a754116938a42bb4671cd9.jpg

2000 - Krups Vivo + Whittard hand grinder

2010 - Gaggia Classic + Iberital MC2

2017 - ECM Mechanika IV Profi + Niche Zero

Aeropress / V60 / Puck Puck / Cafetière / Moka Pot / Ibrik (كـَنـَكـَة) / Lido E

Thank you for the detailed instructions.