Sam_d

Tamping on delonghi eco 310

I have just picked up a delonghi eco 310 it comes with a built in tamper but the basket is pressurised do I need to still tamp the grinds some say yes and some say no as I'm new to all this I'm not sure if I'm getting a sour shot or not due to tamping. Also I want to know if I can buy a normal non-pressurised basket and use that in the portafilter that comes with the machine.

If anyone requires pics let me know

But thanks for any advice

You should be levelling and tamping for good practice if nothing more!

You are right that the pressurised baskets take a lot of the skill out of espresso making.

Definitely get a standard non-pressurised basket ASAP. Assuming you have a half decent grinder this will allow you to develop the skills needed to properly extract espresso.

You should get a nice and solid well fitting tamper if you don’t have one. Once you use non-pressurised baskets the tamper and tamp become incredibly important.

Do you know if a standard non pressurised basket is fine e to put straight in to the portafilter handle or would I have to fine one that fits to be able you use a standard basket? Thanks again

Do you know if a standard non pressurised basket is fine e to put straight in to the portafilter handle or would I have to fine one that fits to be able you use a standard basket? Thanks again

Just search ebay for 51mm unpressurized basket, it will fit the portafilter as it is without needing a different one or needing to modify it. You can buy one from delonghi spares site

https://www.4delonghi.co.uk/coffee-maker/espresso/filter/product.pl?pid=582612&path=606454,640993&refine=filter

but with postage will work out about £15 nearly as much as what you said you paid for the your coffee machine... you could pick one up on ebay for just over £3.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Coffee-2-Cup-51mm-Non-Pressurized-Filter-Basket-For-Breville-Delonghi-Krups/401166466956?hash=item5d67627f8c:g:1L4AAOSw8Dpb6bPL:rk:7:pf:0