lynxv3

Suppliers with 'Espresso Recipes' for their beans

Good Day All,

As the title suggests I'm looking to buy from a supplier that posts recipes for their coffees. As a noob, I'm probably going through about half a bag of 250g beans just to get it right and at that rate I'm going to be wasting a lot of beans.

Rave do some recipes:

https://ravecoffee.co.uk/collections/single-origin-coffee/products/burundi-masha

(Located at the bottom of the page under 'Recipes')

ESPRESSO (18G VST)

17.5g in

45g out

in 24 to 26 seconds

But not all of their coffee has them and some of them don't have espresso recipes. I know that half the fun is in dialling in your grinder and getting the perfect shot but I'm not at that stage in my experience yet.

Also some beans require different ratios and extraction times to get the best out of them.

So, any recommendations along those lines?

Or should I just pucker up for a 1kg bag and take the hit?

Thanks Everyone!

Lelit Mara PL62 | Eureka Mignion MKII | Motta Distro Tool | Pesado Tamper & BPF

You're probably trying to make a drink that's too finicky, difficult to reproduce.

The recipes you refer to are more brew guides. They describe a brew ratio (sets strength) and a time (very, very rough way of dialling in that will change greatly with different grinders). A recipe usually assumes a ball-park, good result, which can't always be met with just brew ratio & time.

So, focus on the brew ratio.

Use grind to balance the flavour.

Record time but don't kill the shot by time, kill it by weight.

If most of your coffees are sour, no matter what you do with grind, stretch out the brew ratio, rethink if the drinks start to get a bit weak once you have achieved a pleasant shot.

“Coffee evokes the most insane reactions in people”, Rene Redzepi.

https://markwjburness.wordpress.com/