IGNORED

Sage Barista Touch Newbie Q's

So I'm a newbie to the world of good coffee. I used to have a Delonghi bean to cup, but have taken the plunge and purchased a BT!

I've read a lot and taken the advice on buying decent beans (Just signed up try Pact) and the process of brewing a decent espresso.

In the mean time I am using some Union beans that were roasted 2 weeks ago so should be reasonable for my first batch of coffee?

I've started with a Grind Setting of 10, 15 second grind which seems to tamp into the portafilter nicely at a weight of 19g. I am however getting very bitter coffee which starts to pour at around 5 seconds and if I let it continue for 30 seconds I end up with about 70g of coffee. (I understand it should be a ratio of about 1:2 or 1:25?)

From what I understand if it is bitter it means the coffee is over extracted, which means I should grind coarser beans or reduce brew time, however given the quantity coming out it suggests that I should also be using finer grinds to slow down the extraction as I understood a 30 second extraction was about right?

Does it mean I'm not tamping with enough pressure?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Luke

Are you sure your not confusing bitter with sour? What you are describing is under extracted coffee pouring that quickly.

I would suggest grinding finer, until to can a get a double espresso to extract in around 30 seconds.

Also adjust your dose, the maximum dose really is 18g, for the baskets that come with barista touch. Try grind setting 8 with a 18g dose as the manual suggests a starting point. Then weigh your dose and total extraction weight aiming for around 1:2 ratio in around 30 seconds. even try a longer a ratio 1:3 see what tastes best to you. Just keep adjusting until you find what works best for you.

So I'm a newbie to the world of good coffee. I used to have a Delonghi bean to cup, but have taken the plunge and purchased a BT!