Sign in to follow this  
Mic_b

Really struggling to get good espresso

Hi, I’m fairly new to making espresso at home so I’m hoping to get some advice.

I have a sage oracle machine and I’m really struggling to get drinkable espresso out of it using the double basket. It’s hard for me to describe the taste but the coffee seems to be over extracted and bitter and possibly sour at the same time - if that’s even possibl?! It’s like it’s picking up all of the sour / bitter and none of the sweetness and nice flavours. I’m using a variety of different beans from Hasbean so don’t think that’s the problem. I weigh the dose in which is usually around the 22.5g mark and aim for 45 out in 25-35 seconds. It’s really strange as when I’m using the single basket I can make espresso which is at least drinkable and sometime quite good. If anyone has any thoughts I’d be very grateful.

I know now the grinder is a weakness and I have niche on order. Also if anyone has any recommendations for a bean that is easy to extract for straight espresso and is sweet that’d be great.

Thanks

Michael

Have you changed the ratio.. at 1:2 it's unlikely to be massively over extracted, especially with that grinder..

Is the strength ok ?

What other ratios ( no timings for shots ) have you tried.

Have you tried a longer ratio say 1:3 or more , taste and adjust ?

Using alot of " different" beans can make life a bit harder as they will taste different and need minor adjustments to get the taste ball park.

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com

Instagram - rjw_inc

Also if your having difficulty discerning bitter and sour, try adding just a dash of water to the espresso to open it up.