MrLatte

First Shot With Naked Portafilter, and it failed...

Hi All,

Haven't had my Gaggia Classic and Mazzer SJ for very long, and im still learning for sure and today I pulled my first shot with a naked portafilter and I thought it was going really well and then boom disaster strikes! So im thinking, finer grind but what about tamping? Does this shot show any signs of bad/wrong tamping?

Oh and I should mention, im using a prestige bag of coffee beans, purchased fresh from Tesco today (Costa Coffee) so i'm not expecting great crema to say the least

[video=youtube_share;i0RPnWcDlmA]

Edited by MrLatte

Way finer. And you still have a dodgy bean "whats fresh mean could of bean roasted 3 months ago

SAGE IS NOT A UPGRADE

:)

Ah yes. The floodgates opening followed by shite spraying everywhere technique.

I too am excellent at this.

• Like 1

Nuova Simonelli Personal 1 ¦ Mazzer SJ

Way finer. And you still have a dodgy bean "whats fresh mean could of bean roasted 3 months ago

Costa Beans aren't fresh, it was a bit of humour I was adding in.. i meam damn they have an expiry date of like 10 months haha. Anyway adjusted finer and i went too fine. I suppose this is what I like about buying Costa beans, they only cost about £3.79 and i can make mistakes until my coffeefounders signature blend comes.. damn im looking forward to them.

Ah yes. The floodgates opening followed by shite spraying everywhere technique.

I too am excellent at this.

Haha, my misses is awfully confused at how coffee ends up on the walls and its a good job ive got tiles or our walls would be destroyed haha. The first time I got my gaggia classic I hadn't a grinder or beans.. then I saw my costa coffee grounds for a french press and I had a smile on my face and thought "I wonder.." and boom went everywhere, it was a coffee massacre that everywhere except my cup. Good memories though :D