I am a really newbie here and have invested in a gaggia classic and thought I would be making really nice coffee, however it’s been bland and disgusting. I am using pre ground from the supermarket like lavazza Rossa and the pressurised double basket, what am I doing wrong as my coffee is tasteless and really bad can another gaggia classic user help me out here.

Thanks Tony

One your probably drinking saw dust, and two you need a grinder Pre-Ground is shit, and what's your method

SAGE IS NOT A UPGRADE

:)

The Gaggia Classic is a good machine and capable of making very good coffee with a little practice.

Your basic problem is using pre -ground coffee and a pressurised basket.

1 The coffee is not fresh and it is too coarsely ground for espresso grind / machines.

2 The coffee you mention id quite a mild coffee especially if you are used to dark roasts as used by some coffee shops.

3 The pressurised basket is used to make 'crema' using pre-ground coffee by forcing the liquid through a very fine hole.

4 You need a decent grinder (not cheap) and freshly roasted beans. Alternatively have them freshly ground for espresso from a local Coffee roaster OR from one of the roasters on the forum.

How do you drink your coffee black espresso, long black or with milk ??

Thanks

is the pressurised basket no use or will it be ok if I sort out the coffee or grinder

The Gaggia Classic is a good machine and capable of making very good coffee with a little practice.

Your basic problem is using pre -ground coffee and a pressurised basket.

1 The coffee is not fresh and it is too coarsely ground for espresso grind / machines.

2 The coffee you mention id quite a mild coffee especially if you are used to dark roasts as used by some coffee shops.

3 The pressurised basket is used to make 'crema' using pre-ground coffee by forcing the liquid through a very fine hole.