MediumRoastSteam

Help me get rid of scorched beans / uneven roast

So, I’ve been using a modded Gene Cafe now for a few months, and recently put two kilos through.

Every single batch came out with scorched beans. I’ve tried lowering the amount of beans in the chamber, I’ve tried a gentle rise, I’ve tried not so gentle rise. I’ve tried 250g, 230g, 220g, all to no avail.

One thing I’ve noticed though: I noticed some chaff accumulation on the chamber’s exit grille (I always clean before and after each roast) and I am starting to think all of this may be due to a poor air flow on the Gene.

I’ve checked the air filter gauze, and it’s so clean you can actually peep through the holes and see the inside of the Gene.

Could I have a duff fan? Is there a way to test if my fan is blowing enough air?

Thanks in advance!

I've been on the brink of starting this self same thread for the last few weeks, after trying all the above fixes to no avail....

So frustrating!

You're going to have to provide more information. What is a gentle rise etc? What temp does the Gene reach? When do you notice the scorching? Some beans can take a lot of heat and some can't so bean size and density is relevant. In run the gene at full power until 230c and then switch in the dimmer at 1150w (at 245-250v) and I don't get scorching. If you run a batch and your air flow isn't good the element will switch off before reaching temp.

ACS Minima (Beta) -- Reskinned Ceado E8, Niche Zero --- Gene Cafe CBR101 with Dimmer Mod and Bean Mass Probe

You're going to have to provide more information. What is a gentle rise etc? What temp does the Gene reach? When do you notice the scorching? Some beans can take a lot of heat and some can't so bean size and density is relevant. In run the gene at full power until 230c and then switch in the dimmer at 1150w (at 245-250v) and I don't get scorching. If you run a batch and your air flow isn't good the element will switch off before reaching temp.

Thanks Rob.