Sign in to follow this  
jay_kendrick

Gaggia Classic and Iberital MC2 Auto Grinder-anything else for espressos?

I am very new to this though already got the bug. I have just purchased Gaggia Classic (pre-2015 version) second-hand. About to purchase Ibertical MC2 grinder most likely brand new.

These two bits of kit seem to be highly recommended as entry-level for the enthusiast from reading over these forums.

In truth I am just using it for espressos and nothing fancy that requires milk frothing, etc.

Is there anything else I will need? I am thinkiing scales to weigh the coffee though anything more that I have missed?

I am very new to this though already got the bug. I have just purchased Gaggia Classic (pre-2015 version) second-hand. About to purchase Ibertical MC2 grinder most likely brand new.

These two bits of kit seem to be highly recommended as entry-level for the enthusiast from reading over these forums.

In truth I am just using it for espressos and nothing fancy that requires milk frothing, etc.

Is there anything else I will need? I am thinkiing scales to weigh the coffee though anything more that I have missed?

Welcome! It quickly becomes expensive.. We are in a similar place as I just started with the same setup at Xmas.

The things I've convinced myself I need and have bought to go with the Classic and MC2:

- Rancilio wand to replace the black Gaggia one

- Small jewellery scales for weighing in and out

- Bottomless portafilter

- 58mm Motta tamper

- Tamping mat

- Knockbox

- Blind basket (for backflushing)

- Puly descaler

- Puly caff powder machine cleaner

- Espresso shot glasses and a nice big Americano cup

I gave my Classic a good clean today and I'm very happy with it. I currently have a pressure gauge (one that's doing the rounds on the forum but I haven't managed to get the OPV nut off, so didn't manage to adjust the pressure yet!)

Hope the above gives you some ideas!